Ian Murphy Debating Competition

History of the Competition

The debating competition was conceived by Rotarian Ian Murphy of the Rotary Club of Corryong.
It serves to provide a platform for students in Year 11 to develop debating skills and compete against other schools throughout District 9790.
It is open to all schools within the district and is organised as a knock out competition culminating in a final at the District 9790 Conference at the end of March each year.
Each round takes place at the normal dinner meeting of the Rotary club.
Rotary Clubs may organise a local knock out competition so that all local schools have an opportunity of entering the competition and, at the same time, gain useful experience.
The first round takes place in term 2 and is usually between two relatively local teams but as the competition progresses some travel is required to meet the opposing team.
A representative of the Rotary Club will travel with the team to the "away" venues.
The debating subject is set by the District chairman and the judges are chosen for their skill and experience in this area. The sponsoring Rotary club will provide transport to the remote venues and contestants and school staff are the guests of the club for these occasions.
The competition is conducted according to an "Administration and Rules" document in order to achieve uniformity of treatment throughout the District.
Adjudicators are provided with a set of criteria against which each team is judged.
Adjudicators are sought with the least possible connection to either of the schools or Rotary clubs who are involved in the current stage of the debate.

Debate Procedure Timelines

The Ian Murphy Committee have resolved to close entries for the Ian Murphy Memorial Debates on the 31st of March EACH YEAR or as notified.

This will avoid confusion with the difference between NSW and Victorian School holidays.

As a result there will be one debate in term 2, one debate in term 3 and one debate in term 4.

The the final will be held at the District Conference in the following year.

Nigel Liggins
Rotary Club of Shepparton South
Chairperson Ian Murphy Memorial Debate
(H) (03) 5823 1736
email: debate@rotary9790.org.au